are you ready to crumble? today: rhubarb & cardamom against ginger & vanilla.

Standard

Okay. We had the savory crumble experiment with cauliflower. Still, nothing tops a classic, sweet and soft crumble when we crave for comfort food. And as Napoleon Bonapartes once said “”The way to a man’s heart goes through his stomach” I would freely interprete to “yummy food just makes you feel better” 😀 As I really wanted to cheer up a friend in need, I knew there is only one way: fulfill his long desired wish for a rhubarb crumble. No sooner said than done!

I flicked through my mum’s little red recipe book where I collect all my family’s recipes and found the recipe of my aunts yummy crumble. She originally prepares it with apricots and plums, served with a fresh lemon mascarpone cream. But as my friend was specifically longing for rhubarb I adapted it a bit. After some brainstorming I decided to give the rhubarb a twist by adding some cardamom, some finely chopped up  fresh ginger, as well as natural vanilla essence (thanks mum for always having an open ear for you culinary cooking brainstormings on the phone ❤ ). Due to my friend’s dairy intolerance I went for soy vanilla pudding instead of the mascarpone cream.  Within short time this is what came out of it, – definitely won’t be the last time. Next time hopefully without a crisis but just for the pleasure of it 😀

CHEER ME UP RHUBARB CRUMBLE WITH GINGER, CARDAMOM AND VANILLA

Ingredients:
For the crumble: 200g of flower, 100g of sugar, 125g of butter (room temperature, cut in little pieces, some cinnamon, a tiny pinch of salt.
For the rhubarb: big bunch of rhubarb, a bit of water, a thumb sized piece of fresh ginger (finely chopped), a ground cardamom capsule, a tiny shot of natural vanilla essence, some agave sirup (depending on your taste of sweetness), a dash of lemon juice.

Method:
Preheat the oven to 170°C. Mix all the crumble ingredients until everything blends and creates the crumble. For the rhubarb put all the ingredients in a small pot and let it simmer for like 5min. Pour of the juices with a sieve and keep the rhubarb which soaked up all the nice flavors. Put it in an ovenproof dish an top up with the crumble mix. Bake for approx. 30min and serve with soy vanilla pudding. YUUUUUUMMMMMMMM!!!


4 responses »

    • hi crista! glad you liked the recipe, it’s really old family recipe and my auntie used to make it with other fruit too.. my favorite is actually a mix of apricots and plums.. hmmmm!! enjoy & happy cooking!

      Like

Leave a comment